What I Think of Social Media?

I haven’t posted much these past weeks. I “suffer” from S.A.D. Seasonal Affected Disorder.

I have been moody, cranky, down, sad, anxious, nervous and frustrated.
Here comes the whine: The moody, cranky, down and sad comes directly from the gray, cold, snirty weather. Stupid me, I waited a year too long to finally decide to get out of this burg.

The anxious, nervous and frustrated come from finally deciding to get out of this burg!!!

Lack of sleep, with RLS adding to my anxiety, and pain from a knee that should be replaced, has me up at 4am doing a blog!!!

How does this play in to my feelings on social media…well, IMHO, the only thing worse than Twitter is Pinterest!

Let’s look at Twitter: here’s one
Jane Doe @Jane Doe
@kerrykosky chgd sks, rd ystdy, grn tdy #fleecysocks

Huh? 1. Did you say you changed your socks? Am I supposed to care? I am surprised you didn’t tell me you pooped today!! And where did you learn to spell? Why bother to teach English anymore. Clearly a new and alien language has been developed! Why bother to teach little kids the alphabet…obviously they will have no use for vowels.

I am too old to learn a new language…especially one as dumb as that!!! IMHO

2. I am NOT @kerrykosky. I AM Kerry Kosky.

3. The symbol # is NOT a “hash tag”!!! It is a pound sign…used to order meat and cheese and it is the button on the phone that you push after you enter your prescription number or your credit card number!!!
AND # does NOT belong in a Facebook post!!!!!

And as for Pinterest…I set up an account and discovered I can only “pin” other people’s photos to my boards. Sorry but I have some pretty nice photos I would like to pin but that option is not allowed on my sidebar. And my screen is nothing like the screens shown in tutorials!!

So, even though I have a Twitter and Pinterest account, don’t look for me there…I will never be back.

Here is where you can find me:

1. I have a very nice Facebook page.
2. You can comment on it or message me or IM me.
3. I have an email address that is noted on my FB page…I check my email several times a day.
4. I have a cell phone…you may text me or call me.
5. Last I heard the post office is still open…you can find my mailing address on 411.com.

Just saying!!!

10 thoughts on “What I Think of Social Media?

  1. I always think that when I see hashtags too! Twitter is useful to me mostly because it’s better than Facebook in letting me see new posts. I’m glad you’re on WordPress-easy to follow you. 🙂 I suffer from SAD as well-so I get what you are saying.

  2. I’m not a fan of Twitter either, but I spend a little time there every day because I feel it is my job. 🙂 And you should be able to pin your own stuff on Pinterest! But I’m not going to push you because it sounds like you are finished being annoyed by it!
    I totally get the SAD situation. I think I’m right there with you. I can’t figure out what else could possibly be wrong with me. The gray makes me crazy.
    Hoping for an early spring for both of us! 🙂

  3. I don’t technically suffer from SADD, but I might as well, because I hate the cold and winter and get very depressed thinking about it as it comes around. March 1st, always put me good spirits knowing that spring and daylight savings time is right around the corner. As for the hashtag, I still find myself wanting to call it a pound sign!! Thanks for linking up and totally enjoyed your post Kerry!!

  4. I encountered a new word today: what does ‘snirty’ mean? Is it a combination of snowy and dirty? FYI: My conversation with you several days ago was the final push I needed to finally start my own blog. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

